How many states does Ontario have?

Which states are in Ontario?

A city is a subtype of municipalities in the Canadian province of Ontario.

Cities in Ontario.

Name Ottawa
Municipal status Single-tier
Census division Ottawa
Population (2016) 934,243
Population (2011) 883,391

How many cities are in Ontario?

Ontario contains 52 cities that had a combined population of 9,705,157 in 2016. Toronto and Dryden are the biggest and smallest cities in the province in terms of population, respectively.

What are the 7 regions of Ontario?

Regions and offices

  • Central East. Central East Region is the most densely populated and one of the fastest growing geographic areas in Canada. …
  • Central West. …
  • Eastern. …
  • Northern. …
  • Western.

What State province is Ontario?

Canada (CA) – State/Province Table

Code State/Province
NT Northwest Territories
NS Nova Scotia
NU Nunavut
ON Ontario

How many states does Canada have?

As a country, Canada has ten provinces and three territories. These subdivisions vary widely in both land and water area. The largest subdivision by land area is the territory of Nunavut. The largest subdivision by water area is the province of Quebec.

How many counties are in Ontario?

These upper-tier municipalities include 19 counties, 3 united counties and 8 regional municipalities or regions, all of which represent 30 of Ontario’s 49 census divisions.

Upper-tier municipalities.

IT IS IMPORTANT:  Your question: Can a Canadian truck driver work for a USA company?
Name Province of Ontario
2016 Census of Population Population (2011) 12,851,821
Change +4.6%
Land area (km²) 908,699.33

Is Ontario a city or a state?

It is home to the nation’s capital city, Ottawa, and the nation’s most populous city, Toronto, which is also Ontario’s provincial capital.

Country Canada
Confederation July 1, 1867 (1st, with Quebec, Nova Scotia, New Brunswick)
Capital (and largest city) Toronto
Largest metro Greater Toronto Area

What is the smallest city in Ontario?

Ontario has 89 towns that had a cumulative population of 1,813,458 and an average population of 22,316 in the 2016 Census. Ontario’s largest and smallest towns are Oakville and Latchford with populations of 193,832 and 313 respectively.

What’s the smallest city in Canada?

Welcome to the smallest town in Canada – Tilt Cove in Newfoundland and Labrador. The tiny town has a population of just four people. Its boom days as a copper mining hub are now a distant memory but the people who live there have no plans to leave.

What are the 8 regions of Canada?

These are the physiographic regions of Canada:

  • Canadian Shield.
  • Hudson Bay Lowland.
  • Arctic Lands.
  • Interior Plains.
  • Cordillera.
  • Great Lakes – St. Lawrence Lowlands.
  • Appalachian Uplands.

How many districts are in Ontario?


Districts of Ontario
Number 10
Populations 13,255 (Manitoulin) – 146,048 (Thunder Bay)
Areas 3,107.23 km² (Manitoulin) – 407,268.65 km² (Kenora)
Government None

What is the capital of Ontario?

Ontario’s capital city, Toronto, is Canada’s most populous municipality with nearly 3 million people. The city is also ranked as one of the most multicultural in the world with half of its population born outside Canada. Over 140 languages and dialects are spoken here.

IT IS IMPORTANT:  Do salmon naturally reproduce in Lake Ontario?