Who ran in the 2015 Canadian election?

The 2015 Canadian federal election (formally the 42nd Canadian general election) was held on October 19, 2015, saw the Liberal Party, led by Justin Trudeau, win 184 seats, allowing it to form a majority government with Trudeau becoming the next prime minister.

Who ran in the last Canadian federal election?

October 21, 2019

Leader Justin Trudeau Andrew Scheer
Party Liberal Conservative
Leader since April 14, 2013 May 27, 2017
Leader’s seat Papineau Regina—Qu’Appelle
Last election 184 seats, 39.47% 99 seats, 31.89%

Was there a 2015 election?

The 2015 United States elections were held (for the most part) on Tuesday, November 3. The off-year election included a special election for Speaker of the House. … None of the three congressional seats that were up for special elections changed party hands.

How long has Justin Trudeau been prime minister?

Table of prime ministers

Prime Minister Total time in office
10 Justin Trudeau (incumbent) 6 years, 16 days (As of November 20, 2021)
11 John Diefenbaker 5 years, 305 days
12 R. B. Bennett 5 years, 77 days
13 Lester B. Pearson 4 years, 363 days

Who won the 2011 Canadian election?

It resulted in a Conservative majority government under the leadership of Prime Minister Stephen Harper. It was the third consecutive election win for Harper, and with 166 of 308 seats, giving them a majority government for the first time in their eight-year history.

IT IS IMPORTANT:  How long did Canadian prohibition last?

Who were the Canadian prime ministers?

The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) received 31% of the vote and won 282 seats, while its National Democratic Alliance won a total of 336 seats.

Has UKIP ever had an MP?

UKIP has no Members of Parliament in the House of Commons. … Carswell thus became the only person so far to win a seat for UKIP in a General Election: but left UKIP to sit as an independent MP on 25 March 2017.

Who was the longest serving prime minister?

The prime minister with the longest single term was Sir Robert Walpole, lasting 20 years and 315 days from 3 April 1721 until 11 February 1742.